Having Fun with a Holga

First Snow at the Valley Park - January 2013 (Holga 120N, Kodak Tri-X 400 B&W)

First Snow at the Valley Park – January 2013 (Holga 120N, Kodak Tri-X 400 B&W)

I was so excited to receive a Holga 120N camera for Christmas and even more excited to take it out for a spin for the first time. I had a film camera when I was a lot younger, but was too young (i.e. not to be trusted) to have anything to do with loading or unloading film, didn’t have to manually wind the film on, and definitely had no aims for using a camera to make art. It was basically a tool for me to document different aspects of my childhood, with my toy collection and various zoo animals ranking highly on my child’s scale of importance.

Using a camera like the Holga gave me the opportunity to rediscover the excitement and freedom of my younger self, and I had a lot of fun trying it out – and getting my first roll of film back was exciting too! This photo was taken on the day it first snowed here this winter, which was sometime in January. It looks like I was on the edge of some kind of moor, but I was actually walking through the man-made Valley Park 2 minutes away from home. It is nestled among the surrounding roads and houses but it is so peaceful that when you are there it feels like you are in the middle of the countryside.

2 thoughts on “Having Fun with a Holga

Leave a Reply

