Words!

Sorry, nothing visual to go with this post today, but a bit of a wordy update instead.

I’ll start with what I’ll call ‘outside news’, the things that have happened that actually exist outside of my head for others to see! I recently took part in my first exhibition at the lovely Real Food Store in Exeter. Cards featuring some of my Spring photography have been on sale in the café upstairs since January as part of their ‘Winter Into Spring’ exhibition, which has just come to an end and which featured a selection of artworks by local artists. It was exciting to be a part of as it was all a new experience for me – it was the first time my work had been out there in public and also the first time I had really described myself as an ‘artist’, which felt a bit strange. It was certainly the first time that anybody had ever paid anything for what I do! The people at the Store have very kindly allowed me to continue to sell the cards during the next exhibition, so they are still available. The shop has a really nice, warm atmosphere and it sells delicious food! For more info about the shop and its exhibitions, check out their website: http://www.realfoodexeter.co.uk/

Now for the slightly more obscure ‘internal news’, the things that are still bubbling around in my head but which I hope to start trying out soon. Sometimes I find that I have to just ponder on ideas first before I can do anything with them. A lot of the things I have done so far this year doodle-wise have been smaller drawings, so I have been tossing around a few ideas for projects on a slightly larger scale. Photography-wise, my Holga is loaded, ready and waiting to go, but as I’d like to try out a new direction with photography in general, I’ve just been keeping my eyes peeled for now. This has given me a good idea of the kinds of things that interest me, so hopefully I will get the opportunity to pursue them and get that film moving.

This all sounds a bit vague, but I guess this is just my way of saying that I am doing something creative – honest! – or at least that I have stuff in the works.

Leave a Reply

