Seven Sunflowers

Seven Sunflowers

Maybe it’s all of the beautiful colour raging around the garden at the moment, but I’ve been thinking a lot lately about the photos I used to take of flowers, leaves, thorns – whatever it might be. I realised I haven’t really done any photography for a long time now as I’ve been focusing on drawing, painting and printing. It sounds odd but it feels like quite a natural progression, as though somehow all of that colour and picking out certain details with the lens was a kind of practice ground for working out the kind of images I like to make. Although I do enjoy taking photos – there is something so satisfying about capturing something just at the right moment – I have always enjoyed drawing and all of that more than photography; I’ve been drawing for as long as I can remember, long before I got my hands on a camera. I think it feels freer for me to start with a blank page rather than choose something to focus on in an already established ‘canvas’. I’m not technically-minded enough to stage my own scenes – I wouldn’t know what scenes to stage – but on paper I can make things up as I go along, draw things that don’t exist, and, crucially, create people with teeth so horrible you just wouldn’t find them in the mouth of a real person. Also, when it comes down to it, I think I’m just a bit too lazy, not industrious enough to branch out into that kind of thing. I like a comfy chair, a cup of tea and a good pencil.

That was all an unnecessarily winding, introspective way of saying: here is a drawing inspired by the two massive sunflowers (seriously, their stalks are more like trunks) growing in my garden and brightening the whole place up.

Leave a Reply

