Funny Frogs (and a lot of parentheses)

SCN_0104-002

Make room for this squishy fella, please. He was a lot of fun to do but I haven’t yet decided on a name – I was thinking something along the lines of Mr Christopher, if that doesn’t make me sound too bonkers! This drawing is from a few weeks ago. I’d been wanting to draw a frog (or a toad; in the documentary I’m about to mention, apparently the two terms are interchangeable) for a while, but what got me actually sitting down and doing it was a David Attenborough documentary a month or two ago all about frogs. It was a fascinating programme (of course, it was Attenborough) but also really funny. I love frogs, I think they are really cute, strange and endearing things anyway, but my favourite clip had to be the one of the Panamanian golden frog. If you haven’t come across these little creatures before, google them or search Youtube along with the word ‘waving’. You will not be sorry.
As part of a mating ritual and to fend off rivals, these frogs communicate through semaphore, by waving at each other – a hilarious, solemn and almost regal little circle of the hand (foot?) that will either win a lady frog (only if she returns the wave, of course) or scare off any other hopeful males. I laughed harder than I think I have ever laughed at a documentary before, at this and at other various clips of frogs doing funny things (why isn’t that a regular show? I would watch it). If you can find the programme anywhere then do watch it; I think it was called David Attenborough’s Fabulous Frogs.
Sadly, the golden frog is very rare and they now only exist in captivity – but let’s hope their heartwarming (hilarious) waving doesn’t turn into one of farewell any time soon.

Leave a Reply

