The Rat Whisperer and Other Goings-on in the Goozeberry Forest

SCN_0147-004

Introducing the first of what is currently a band of two Forest Children. There may be more, and I have a couple of ideas floating around on the same theme, but I’m not sure yet. I like to think of this little guy living in the woods – although he’s surprisingly dapper for that – taking his two special ratty companions with him wherever he goes, but able to communicate with all the other rats too. A kind of Dickon from the Secret Garden, only I imagine this boy being a bit stranger, more like a little woodland ghost who might not understand people as well as he does animals and trees.

This was originally going to be a Puzzlebook Poem (see here for an explanation of that) and I had the words ready, but as I started drawing and the rats appeared I got the ‘rat whisperer’ idea and went with that instead. The second forest child, which I’ll post up later in the week, goes as a sort of pair with this one; I modelled her (for the second one is a girl) face on the face of the little fella above, as in the Puzzlebook Poem they were originally siblings.
As you can probably tell a lot of this is still floating half-formed in my head, so apologies for this post. Basically what I’m saying is, watch out for more woodland-themed people/creatures turning up in these parts…

Leave a Reply

